Awakened!

I know it is odd to write my first official blog on vampires (which will probably alienate half of the blogging world)–but it happens that I have recently finished the latest novel in The House of Night young adult series, Awakened, by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast.

So, I had to blog about it…

Okay.  I love vampires! (check out the pretty solid movie list at snarkerati )

I have been strangely attracted to them since childhood.  First impressions were Salem’s Lot, which frightened yet intrigued me and Love at First Bite, which made me laugh and romanticized the character for me.  Poor Dracula!  He just wants to find love!  What can I say?  I was nine years old and I was hooked.

Since then I have seen countless movies–read many books–and pretty much  have had a love affair with these creatures of the night.  The quest for immortality.  The consequences of being seduced by Darkness.  The power.  The allure of blood.  The bad-assness!  Curse or blessing? It all fascinates me.

The House of Night series was suggested by a friend, who warned it was addictive and sure enough, my daughter, Dezi and I devoured the first four and then have waited, not so patiently, for each book after.  Awakened is the eighth book.  (I’ve heard there are to be four more installments before the end.)

It follows the journey of  a teenage Zoey Redbird, as she is marked to become a vampire and begins her new life at the House of Night schools.  She makes true friends and encounters evil–of course–and has been specially chosen to save the world from said evil.  It all sounds typical, but what makes this series so enjoyable are the characters.  Zoey and her band of friends are believable and flawed.  I like that.  And the story blends native american folklore and vampire myths successfully, creating a unique world.

I can’t say too much more, except that if vampires interest you–it is worth looking into.  It is an easy read–(by no means Pulitzer Prize material)–and fun!  We are loving Zoey’s adventures–maybe you will too.  (amazon)

Hope all is well on your side of the world!

PS One of my favorite movies for 2010 was the awesome Daybreakers–that had a creative, new twist and was a fine addition to the vampire mythology.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Awakened!

Leave a Reply

