“A true love of cheesy cinema…”

Modern Family has easily become one of my favorite sitcoms–ever.   Today I watched the latest episode–Our Children, Ourselves (S2E12)–and was reminded of the divide that can sometimes occur in our family.

Phil and Claire Dunphy proclaim to share a “true love of cheesy cinema–favorite categories being genetically engineered animals gone wrong, when young people switch bodies, tough guys taking care of babies, any sequel 3 and higher–and usually you get a new cast at around 5, that’s when the magic really happens.”  All this to explain their enthusiasm for wanting to watch “Croctopus 3D!!”   This is juxtaposed with the “smarter” parents watching the subtitled, boring, french film which was “one of the most critically acclaimed movies of the year”.

Too funny! And true!  I call those movies–Badtastic or Horriblicious–oh, how I love you Starship Troopers! And how many times can I watch Strange Days? Many, many times.

While all of my family members love the cinema–there is a great disparity when it comes to individual taste or shall we say preference.

We have the romantic comedy lover.  Does it have Katherine Heigl and Zac Efron in an exotic location singing about their undying, albeit disturbing romance?  In!

The cinema snob.  Who never has to watch a movie he knows to be a steaming pile of shit–and he knows by intuition and poorly cut trailers–hello–it’s obvious to the intellectually superior.

The closet cheesy movie lover.  Enjoys all film, and tries to watch the critically acclaim indies, but has a secret love for the cheese.  Queen of the Damned anyone?

And me.  I have an openly admitted broader range of appeal.  From subtitles to dragons and by the way…dragons make any movie better!  So, if it interests me, I will check it!  I try to judge each movie on its own merit based on its intended genre.

In our defense we are a pretty well-rounded group–and we can all appreciate a fine, well made film.  When we all agree…it is truly a fantastic piece of storytelling–no matter what the genre is!  Cheesy or not!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

