Talk to Me

A Poem

Seven days ago, I died. Now, nobody will talk to me.

I know what you are thinking.  It is impossible to speak to the dead.

But I refuse to believe it.

I never got to say good-bye. It was just a regular Monday.

I was driving to work and then they were pulling me out of the crushed car.

I knew my life on earth was over and I walked calmly back home.

There I waited and observed my husband and daughter comfort each other.

Their love for me is immense and so strong that I could feel it wash over me.

Yet, they did not talk to me.

The last week I have seen many loved ones come and go.

They tell stories and laugh. The share memories and cry.

They all know that I never feared my spirit’s release

and that I want them to remember me living.

Still, no one talked to me.

I stood around. I moved among them. I whispered in their ears.  They smile.

But they said nothing.

Today, my ashes are released over the river I love so much.

I can feel a part of me join the gentle current.  Freedom lifts me.

Then a tiny voice stops my ascent.

She is talking to me.

“Mom? I don’t know if you can hear me—but I wanted to tell you that…

that I am so lucky to have had you.”

My heart feels heavy and alive.

I find myself standing in front of my beautiful child.

I resent the time I will not have.  I miss the moments that will never be.

I caress her moist cheek and say into the wind,

“You will always have me. I love you.”

She smiles. “I know. I love you, too.”

Joy lifts my spirit and this time I rise quickly.

I know as I look down at her…

She will always hear my voice and

someone will talk to me.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

2 thoughts on “Talk to Me

  1. First tears of the day! Our loved ones are never far from us, not in life or death. If we just close our eyes and listen with our hearts there they are. Keep writing Nedi, you have a gift for sharing.

Leave a Reply

