#25 Cyrus

Theatrical poster
Directed by Jay Duplass Mark Duplass
Produced by Michael Costigan Tony Scott Ridley Scott
Written by Jay & Mark Duplass
Starring John C. Reilly Jonah Hill Marisa Tomei Catherine Keener Matt Walsh
Music by Michael Andrews
Cinematography Jas Shelton
Editing by Jay Dueby
Studio Scott Free Productions

If a good comedy is rare.  A good romantic comedy is an endangered species.   And Cyrus is that unique animal, that is hard to categorize in either genre, but is definitely good.

It is a simple, quirky story.  A regular joe who finds love unexpectedly and then must work through the kinks albeit strange to find happiness. 

The cast is perfect in every way. 

John C. Reilly is brilliant.  No other actor could have explored the layers of his character, John, as deftly.  He was a mixture of depressed, pathetic, kind, sweet, strong and decisive.  That’s a lot to pull off! But, he does–naturally and easily. 

As Molly, the object of John’s affection, Marisa Tomei is at her best.  I believed in her–even with the weird, awkward factors added to her life.  I understood Molly and watching her fall in love was beautiful. 

Jonah Hill had the most difficult part, as Cyrus the grown son that is unhealthily attached to his mother, Molly.  It could have gone too far–but his subtle performance keeps the creep at bay.  Instead, you feel sorry for him and cheer for him to find his place. 

 This is not a hollywood movie.  This is a story about real people with real complicated issues.  It never feels scripted or forced and that’s what I love about it.

I laughed out loud.  I cringed.  I was taken by surprised and emotional.  It is a wonderful experience when a film can take you on a journey with their characters and you are better for it. 

RESOURCE: Wikipedia 

 Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

