#23 Tangled


UK theatrical poster
Directed by Nathan Greno
Byron Howard
Produced by Roy Conli
John Lasseter
Glen Keane
Screenplay by Dan Fogelman
Based on Rapunzel” by
Brothers Grimm
Narrated by Zachary Levi
Starring Zachary Levi
Mandy Moore
Donna Murphy
Music by Alan Menken
Glenn Slater (Lyrics)
Alan Menken (Score)
Editing by Tim Mertens
Studio Walt Disney Animation Studios

Whoever cut the trailer for Tangled should be fired–F-I-R-E-D!

It was pretty awful–and I was worried–Matt hated it and refused to got see it.  But Dezi and I kept the faith…John Lasseter as head of Disney Animation would not allow a heartless, corny film to be the studio’s 50th animated feature–right?

Whew!  We were right! Even Matt agreed…Tangled is a fine addition to the Disney legacy and a wonderful film.

It is a clever take on Rapunzel‘s famous fairy tale.  Long locks–trapped in a tower–evil Mother Gothel–falls in love with a prince–happily ever after.  Except….the golden long locks have magical powers–evil Mother Gothel is a master manipulator and traps her in the tower for her own safety (clever and effective)–the prince is a theft (I love an anti-hero)–and they still live happily ever after, but the journey is the fun here.

Mandy Moore is perfect.  She portrays Rapunzel as vulnerable,  yet surprisingly confident and capable.  Zachary Levi is the surprise here.  I enjoy him in Chuck (his TV show), but I loved him as Flynn Rider–cocky, selfish and charming–very Han Solo!  And he can sing!  The duet  “I See The Light” is lovely and now Oscar nominated. (Nice to see Alan Menken back!)  Although my favorite song is “Mother knows Best”.  I want a Pascal (pet chameleon)– and horse just like Maximus–two animal sidekicks (that do not talk) that add to the story and not detract–refreshing.

The story had me laughing, engaged and even emotional.  The directors made smart choices and in turn I cared about the characters.  Rapunzel’s parents have no speaking parts, yet they are strongly effective as a soulful anchor.  Well done!

I have now seen it a few times and love it more each time I see it!  Way to  go, John Lasseter!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “#23 Tangled

  1. Great review. The trailer had me seeing visions of Hercules and Pocahontas, but this turned out fantastic and rivaled Toy Story 3 and How To Train Your Dragon for best animated feature.

Leave a Reply

