#24 How to Train Your Dragon


Theatrical release poster
Directed by
Produced by
Screenplay by
Story by Cressida Cowell
Narrated by Jay Baruchel
Starring
Music by John Powell
Editing by Darren T. Holmes
Studio DreamWorks Animation
Pacific Data Images

Animation frees creativity.  It allows for storytelling without the limitations of conventional film.  Want to explore the ocean with a father, who happens to be a clown fish, as he searches for his missing son?  Done.  Want to create a new interpretation of dragons and have the audience soar across the sky with them? Check.

How to Train Your Dragon uses animation, and 3D, to its greatest potential.  Creating flight sequences that rivaled last year’s Avatar and telling a charmingly funny tale that pits misunderstood dragons against dragon killing vikings.  (Zach Snyder’s Owls of Ga’hoole also did brilliant work this year with 3D flight.)

Although the story follows a common structure–odd son seeking father’s approval and understanding–the setting gives it a new twist.   Add a wonderfully new vision of Dragons and you have a great film.

Jay Baruchel’s young viking Hiccup, is more brains than brawn and creates a contraption that injuries a mysterious, elusive Night Fury Dragon.   A curious friendship develops and Hiccup names him Toothless (for his retractable teeth) and begins to “train” him.

One of my favorite aspects is the personality the filmmakers created for the Dragons.  It is a very distinctive mixture of cat and dog–more cat in my opinion, since I have 5 little “dragons” at home.  From purring to bouncing–it gave them a wonderful, sweet quality.

All the character voices are pitch perfect–from Gerard Butler as the dad to America Ferreria as the love interest–but Baruchel is the star here–his comic timing is well…perfect.

No review would be complete without a singling out the music.  (I have the CD in my car!) John Powell has received an Oscar nomination and it is well deserved.  There is a beautifully scored scene when Toothless and Hiccup first learn to trust each other and touch–it’s breathtaking!

I loved it! And anytime I need to fill my happy meter–I watch it again…that’s the biggest compliment to give!

Resource: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “#24 How to Train Your Dragon

Leave a Reply

