#21 Exit Through The Gift Shop

Directed by Banksy
Produced by Holly Cushing
Jaimie D’Cruz
James Gay-Rees
Narrated by Rhys Ifans
Starring Thierry Guetta
Banksy
Shepard Fairey
Invader
André
Music by Roni Size
Editing by Tom Fulford
Chris King
Studio Paranoid Pictures

Exit Through The Gift Shop is a very interesting study that evokes questions…  What is art?  What is true artful expression?  When does copying not equal flattery? Or when does art imitate life?

I only knew the basic set up–amateur filmmaker, Thierry Guetta decides to make a movie about graffiti artists–interviewing Banksy, the famous British street artist is his greatest coup–but during the course of his venture the tables are turned.   Banksy finds Thierry fascinating and begins to document his life and the results are this controversial film. 

I do not want to give too much away.  Watching the film reveal itself is part of what I love and would want you to experience it in that fashion.

Now, people are questioning the authenticity of the subject.  It is real?  Is it a prank set up by Banksy, in order to make a statement about art in today’s society?

Who cares?  It is brilliant.  Funny, honest and a bit scary on how easily the masses are led.  This documentary ignites thoughtful conversations about what defines art and our cultural influences and not many movies can claim to that.

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

File:Banksy graffiti removal.jpg

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “#21 Exit Through The Gift Shop

Leave a Reply

