#18 Splice


Final theatrical poster
Directed by Vincenzo Natali
Produced by Steve Hoban
Guillermo del Toro
Screenplay by Vincenzo Natali
Doug Taylor
Antoinette Terry Bryant
Story by Vincenzo Natali
Antoinette Terry Bryant
Starring Adrien Brody
Sarah Polley
Delphine Chanéac
Music by Cyrille Aufort
Cinematography Tetsuo Nagata
Editing by Michele Conroy
Studio Copperheart Entertainment
Gaumont[1]

Okay.  This is where my love for Sci-Fi will manifest.  The next two films may not be anyone else’s top 25, but I have to represent with what I consider the best in the genre this year. 

I was excited about Splice solely from the short clip I saw in December 2009.   The creature looked amazing.  (And yes.  I am a sucker for “creature features”–The FlyMimic–to name a few– awesome!)  But I also had some concerns–these movies can easily turn into cheese when executed poorly–Species, anyone? 

So, I waited…and boy, was I rewarded.  I loved it.  It did not reinvent the sci-fi/horror wheel, but it did add a few reshaped spokes. 

Vincenzo Natali’s (Cube) direction must be noted first.  He changes the mood and tone a few times and never loses the audience.  By focusing on the basic, human relationship of the three leads rather the science/gory angle, he is able to achieve what most in this genre have trouble with–empathy.  It helps that the script is intelligent –bringing up questions about ethics and morality.

Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley were the right choices for the main characters.  They are strong, capable and 100% believable as somewhat “mad” scientists. 

The true marvel of this film is DREN–the creature created by said mad scientists.  She is a technological wonder, in the story and in the making of the film.  A mixture of CG and live action–it is a beautiful rendition of a whole new being.  Dren played by Delphine Chaneac is both exotic beauty and scary monster.  She is one of the most original creatures I’ve seen in a long time.  BRAVO!

The film is thought provoking, scary, intriguing and fun!  That is a lot to pull off successfully–but it works.   Splice is proof that an old formula can be rejuvenated by a new idea and good execution.

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

