#19 Animal Kingdom


Theatrical release poster
Directed by David Michôd
Produced by Liz Watts
Written by David Michôd
Starring Ben Mendelsohn
Joel Edgerton
Guy Pearce
Luke Ford
Jacki Weaver
Sullivan Stapleton
and introducing James Frecheville
Music by Antony Partos
Cinematography Adam Arkapaw
Editing by Luke Doolan
Studio Screen Australia

Animal Kingdom is what I call a slow burn.  Starts as a simple character study of a family surrounded and entrenched in crime and viewed from an outsider (orphaned, estranged grandson).  It continues to escalate in tension and in fear, until the stress is almost unbearable.  Then whoosh! the flames ignite.  Intense.

Beautifully crafted.  Psychologically suspenseful and revealing.  Newcomer James Frencheville, as the new addition to the established family is perfect, although I was not sure at first.  He felt detached and monotone–but as the story progresses you realize that was part of his brilliant performance.  Nice.

All the actors here are incredible.  But the stand out is Jacki Weaver–and she is nominated for a deserving Oscar for it!  WOW!  As the matriarch of the family and the emotional anchor her portrayal is phenomenal.  Layered and surprising.  I want her to win–out of all the fine nominees–Jacki Weaver truly gave the BEST supporting performance of the year. 

I do not want to say anymore to spoil your experience.  Trust me.  You need to see it!

Resources:  Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

