#17 Daybreakers


Theatrical release poster
Directed by Michael Spierig
Peter Spierig
Produced by Chris Brown[1]
Sean Furst
Bryan Furst
Written by Peter Spierig
Michael Spierig
Starring Ethan Hawke
Willem Dafoe
Claudia Karvan
Sam Neill
Michael Dorman
Isabel Lucas
Music by Christopher Gordon
Cinematography Ben Nott
Editing by Matt Villa
Distributed by Lionsgate

Vampires!  Real vampires! (NO SPARKLING!) YES!  And a creative, unique spin on the traditional lore.  How could this not be in my top 25?  Exactly.  But the main reason it is on the list is that Daybreakers is an original and that is rare in this genre.

It takes vampire mythology and uses it as a springboard to create an entire new universe on the basis that most of humanity is now infected and to be human is to be an endangered species.  It also incorporates social issues (blood=oil or any natural resource) and political intrigue–again–rare in this genre.

But what is truly wonderful is that is doesn’t skimp on the gore, violence, action and bad ass creatures of the night!  It is awesome!   The Subsider creature is a scary cool monster and the special effects are subtle and well done.

The actors are solid.  I love Ethan Hawke, Willem Dafoe and Sam Neill–so I  was happy and enjoyed their performances.

What I thought was super awesome though were all the small details–the writers/directors, the Spierig brothers, left no detail out–from signs on the streets to an appliance in a house–all of it adds to the authenticity of their world.  I believed it.  And for 1.5 hours I was lost in it.

I have heard rumors about a sequel and I would be totally psyched–I would love to revisit their world–and that is the biggest compliment you can give a filmmaker!

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “#17 Daybreakers

  1. I loved this one as well, I was very impressed with the authenticity of the world they created. I am not as big of a creature guy but I still dug this alot. Great review lady!

Leave a Reply

