#13 Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (7.1)


Part 1 theatrical poster
Directed by David Yates
Produced by David Heyman
David Barron
J. K. Rowling[1]
Screenplay by Steve Kloves
Based on Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by
J. K. Rowling
Starring Daniel Radcliffe
Rupert Grint
Emma Watson
Ralph Fiennes
Alan Rickman
Helena Bonham Carter
Music by Alexandre Desplat
Orchestrator:
Conrad Pope
Themes:
John Williams
Editing by Mark Day
Studio Heyday Films

I am a proud Potter Head! Dez and I have read every book–several times–attending midnight book releases became a tradition.  When the books ended–beautifully, I might add–all we had left were the film interpretations.  They started as a nice visual aide to the printed word, but with each movie they have become stronger and stronger–to the point that they can now stand alone as brilliant storytelling.  The Deathly Hallows Pt 1 is the best one so far!

For the first time you are torn away from the safety of Hogwarts and it provides for a totally new experience.  Just as in the novel, we feel the isolation, fear and idleness of the three  main characters.  I love that you rarely see anyone else.  This is about the journey that needs to be taken for them to reach their destination.  Harry must become a man–make decisions that will affect everyone’s lives and be willing to pay the consequences.   It is intense, solemn and heartbreaking–I can not wait for part two!  It will be epic.

Side note:

Thank you JK Rowling!  Thank you for helping a generation of children love to read.  Thank you for taking us all on this adventure–and for sharing this world you created–we will never be the same.  Underneath all the magic, creatures and fantastic surrounding–this is a simple story about a boy who longs to be loved and have a family–we can all relate to that–and that’s what draws all of us to this tale.  We all want to see Harry vanquish evil and be able to live happily ever after–because if he can…maybe we can too!

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

