#9 The Social Network

 
Directed by David Fincher
Produced by David Fincher
Scott Rudin
Dana Brunetti
Michael De Luca
Ceán Chaffin
Kevin Spacey
Screenplay by Aaron Sorkin
Based on The Accidental Billionaires by
Ben Mezrich
Starring Jesse Eisenberg
Andrew Garfield
Justin Timberlake
Brenda Song
Armie Hammer
Max Minghella
Rashida Jones
Rooney Mara
Music by Trent Reznor
Atticus Ross
Cinematography Jeff Cronenweth
Editing by Kirk Baxter
Angus Wall
Studio Relativity Media
Trigger Street Productions

What?! You might be thinking–The Social Network is NOT in her top 5?! Well, you will notice that my favorites are all movies that moved me–emotionally–and although expertly crafted and perfectly written–I was a detached observer and never truly attached to anyone in this film.

That said this is an excellent film. It is an accurate representation of its generation. Although we may be more connected with technology we are also more isolated and distant than ever.

David Fincher directs a fast paced, interesting movie about what amounts to a pre-trial deposition–two, to be exact–with flashbacks interwoven it is never boring or slow.  Aaron Sorkin will win Best Adapted Screenplay–and it is well deserved–fast, funny and intelligent–Sorkin is a master wordsmith. 

The cast is stellar.  Andrew Garfield is a standout (and gives me hope about the new SpiderMan), but my favorite–and under appreciated–is Armie Hammer playing both Winklevoss twins (which I did not realize until I was told–great CG work).   I loved every moment he was on-screen.

This is a film you need to watch more than once–just to soak in the dialogue and the subtle performances. And then post your review on facebook–like I am about to do.  🙂

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

