#6 The Kids are Alright


Theatrical release poster
Directed by Lisa Cholodenko
Produced by Jeff Levy-Hinte
Gary Gilbert
Jordan Horowitz
Celine Rattray
Daniela Taplin Lundberg
Philippe Hellmann
Written by Lisa Cholodenko
Stuart Blumberg
Starring Annette Bening
Julianne Moore
Mark Ruffalo
Mia Wasikowska
Josh Hutcherson
Music by Carter Burwell
Nathan Larson
Craig Wedren
Cinematography Igor Jadue-Lillo
Editing by Jeffrey M. Werner
Distributed by Focus Features

The Kids are Alright is a rare film–it is simple, honest, and funny–no special effects or surprising twists–just a story about a family’s journey to rediscover their roles and define themselves.  Oh–and it just happens to be an unconventional family with lesbian parents and whats really great is that is the least interesting fact about them. 

Annette Bening is amazing–as usual (one of my favorites)–and this is her movie.  Best Actress nomination well deserved!  She is perfect as the overbearing controlling half of the couple–vulnerable and strong.  Julianne Moore is great as the hippie, insecure half and Mark Ruffalo (Best Supporting Actor nod) is charming and makes it look easy as the sperm donor “dad”.   And the kids are truly alright–Mia Wasikowska and Josh Hutcherson–are both believable and talented.   There a scene where they are all gathered at a table–having dinner–and it is one of the best acted moments on film this year. 

I enjoyed everything about this film.  It had a light exterior but was so much more beneath the surface–which is always a nice surprise.  I laughed and cried and to me that is the definition of  a cool cinematic experience.  Alright indeed!

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “#6 The Kids are Alright

  1. I simply adore Annette Bening! Even though I am of course behind and have not seen it– the parts I have seen truly do make this a movie worth being near the top 5!

Leave a Reply

