#1 Black Swan

The poster for the film shows Natalie Portman with white facial makeup, black-winged eye liner around bloodshot red eyes, and a jagged crystal tiara.
Theatrical release poster
Directed by Darren Aronofsky
Produced by Scott Franklin
Mike Medavoy
Arnold Messer
Brian Oliver
Screenplay by Mark Heyman
Andres Heinz
John McLaughlin
Story by Andres Heinz
Starring Natalie Portman
Vincent Cassel
Mila Kunis
Barbara Hershey
Music by Clint Mansell
Cinematography Matthew Libatique
Editing by Andrew Weisblum
Distributed by Fox Searchlight Pictures

TRANSCENDENT

a : exceeding usual limits : surpassing  b : extending or lying beyond the limits of ordinary experience

This is the word I use when describing Black Swan.  Out of all the films this year–Darren Aronofsky’s dark vision is the one that had the most powerful impact on me.   A psychological thriller and intense character study–it stays with you long after it fades to black. 

Natalie Portman will win the Oscar (to go along with all her other awards) because of total immersion into Nina Sayers.  A fragile, determined and unstable ballerina with an obession with perfection.  It is the a role of a lifetime and a tour-de-force performance. 

But Natalie is not the only reason the film is amazing.  Aronosfsky’s direction is masterful (and I thought all his other movies were incredible).  All his trademark styles–use of bright light and shadows–sound as a character in the story–are…yes, perfected–and there were scenes that caused a physical reaction in me.  I experienced goose bumps during the climatic dance sequence–WOW!  It is not for those with a weak disposition–it is unflinchingly honest and visually profound. 

I dare say that it accomplishes what Nina Sayers was seeking…PERFECTION!

Resources: Wikipedia

Metacritic

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

