The new Jane Eyre is not the best version out there…

   

I must begin by saying that I absolutely love Jane Eyre. It has been my favorite novel since I was 10 years old and I have read it many times.  Jane was my first role model.  In a childhood full of isolation and turmoil, I related to her and wanted to become like her–smart–strong-willed–independent–and completely realistic. 

The story of Jane’s life is intriguing.  It is full of gothic suspense and romance–but not the silly, rainbow and butterfly romance but a soul connection with the greatest anti-hero, Mr. Rochester.  (Who I blame for my life-long fascination with anti-hero that then resulted in my finding my own Rochester.  <3)

They are two halves of a whole.  To quote Rochester, “I sometimes have a queer feeling with regard to you (Jane)–especially when you are near me, as now: it is as if I had a string somewhere under my left ribs, tightly and inextricably knotted to a similar string situated in the corresponding quarter of your little frame. And if that boisterous channel, and two hundred miles or so of land come broad between us, I am afraid that cord of communion will be snapt; and then I’ve a nervous notion I should take to bleeding inwardly.”

Lovely.  And that is the bond that is missing in the latest Hollywood version. (And I have watched every rendition created!) The chemistry between Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender never quite reaches that level of intimacy.  There are parts that are well executed, but most of it feels rushed.  I am a huge fan of the BBC version released in 2006, which is 4 hours in length and covers the novel more closely, but I have seen shorten takes–of other favorites–that work wonderfully–the last Pride and Prejudice was nicely done, as well as the brilliant Sense and Sensibility. So, I was open-minded, yet walked out unsatisfied–especially with the ending, which did not represent Jane as she should have been at the end of her journey.

Maybe I would have been more forgiving, if I were not so protective of these characters.  Maybe watching this without any earlier acquaintance to them would have allowed me to enjoy it for what it is–a simple retelling of a complicated tale. Maybe, but I can not undo my 30 year love affair with Jane Eyre–for I am afraid I may take to bleeding inwardly.

P.S.  Link to Jane Eyre revisited

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

6 thoughts on “The new Jane Eyre is not the best version out there…

  1. Pingback: Jane Eyre revisited « nediunedited

  2. I totally agree with you! I’ve only just been introduced to Jane Eyre, but i saw the 2006 mini series this weekend and loved it! So i went out last night and bought the one in the shops thinking it the same but it turned out it was the new movie. But i thought hey ho its still a good story, (and i love all the films of Jane austen’s collection, well all stories from around that period tbh) so it can’t be that bad… But when i watched it i was so disappointed! The connection between them never grew and it is very rushed throughout. I prefer the order in which we see things in the 2006 mini series too. Going to sell this dvd of the film on ebay and purchase the mini series and watch all over again asap!

    • Good call! 🙂 If you love Jane Austen you must check out the 1995 TV mini series with Colin Firth (if you haven’t yet)–it is a 5 hour investment of your time…but totally worth it!

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

