Justified–it’s REALLY good!

 

Justified 2010 Intertitle.png

I am a casual television watcher.  I have Hulu playing in the background on my weekend shifts, mostly as white noise, but it does allow me to watch a lot of programming.  Yet, few shows catch my genuine interest and most are hit and miss. 

There are a few stand outs–Modern Family–GLEE–The Walking Dead–and for the last two seasons, Fringe.  (I love some premium channel shows–Dexter–True Blood–Boardwalk Empire–yet they do not count on Hulu)  But the one show I am really loving now is Justified

It is well into its second season and finding its stride.  I enjoyed the first season.  It was original with unique characters in an under exposed setting…the backwoods of Kentucky.  The villains and cases that involved the U.S. Marshalls were  involved in were creative and well thought out.

I did begin to worry about the second half, which started feeling episodic, but by then I was 100% invested in Timothy Olyphant‘s Raylan Givens.  I haven’t liked a character this quickly since Jack Bauer!  He is intelligent, stubborn and a perfect gentleman.  Full of southern charm and wit, he does whatever he feels is “justified”.  

Graham Yost and Elmore Leonard write some great episodes and some really good lines for Raylan–classics–and infuse the world with an authentic realism. 

Now inhabit Raylan’s world with wonderful characters–good, bad and in between–especially Walter Googins Boyd Crowder–which was so good they brought him back from the dead.  This season they introduced the Bennett Clan–and wow!–Margo Martindale (Momma Mags Bennett) is a wonderful character actress that I am predicting will get some attention for this role.   What they are smart about in this series is character development.  They take the time to focus on the interactions and relationships among the people–no matter what side of the law they may be on. 

I do not want to give you specifics or details–discovering the folks of  Harlan County is a pleasure you must experience on your own.  Go pay them a visit–you will not regret it!

Raylan Givens: Dear Lord, before we eat this meal we ask forgiveness for our sins, especially Boyd- who blew up a black church with a rocket launcher, and afterwards he shot his associate Jared Hale in the back of the head out on Tate’s Creek bridge. Let the image of Jared’s brain matter on that windshield not dampen our appetites, but may the knowledge of Boyd’s past sins help guide these men. May this food provide them with all the nourishment they need. But, if it does not, may they find comfort in knowing that the United States Marshal Service is offering fifty-thousand dollars to any individual providing information that will put Boyd back in prison. Cash or check, we can make it out to them. Or to Jesus. Whoever they want. In your name, we pray. Amen.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

