Japan’s 13 Assassins is Badass!

File:Thirteen Assassins.jpg

If you can get pass the subtitles you will not regret it!  Takashi Miike‘s 13 Assassins is awesome!  The story follows 13 Samurais that are employed to kill a truly evil man, who is on the path to political power.  It is visually stunning, extremely violent, and beautifully executed.  I haven’t hated a villian this much in a long time–I wanted him to die…slowly and painfully.  Yeah, that’s how involved you become.

I did not know anything about this film when I sat down at The Ritz (Alamo Drafthouse) and I am glad I didn’t.  It was a journey.  Later I discovered it is based on true events–that makes the tale even more interesting. 

You are introduced to every character leisurely.  (That is how the hatred for the sadistic Lord Naritsugu was allowed to fester and grow.)  Each warrior is unique–from the comic relief to the fierce ronin.  They are assembled and led by an aging master, Shinzaemon, at a time when the Samurais’ era was ending– ” I had almost given up the hope of dying an honorable death.”   With this mission they find, not only employment, but purpose.  

I loved it!  From the quiet exchanges to the bloody finale.  The director is known for horror movies and although I can see the violence, this film seems elegant (which I learned is a departure for him, since he is usually graphic and gory).  I will assume this was a new challenge for him and as Shinzaemon states, when accepting the assassination assignment,     “I shall accomplish your task… with magnificence. ”  And I think Takashi Miike did just that. 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Japan’s 13 Assassins is Badass!

  1. God! I was jealous about you watching it when I just knew the title of the movie!! Now, I understand the basis of the movie and I just have to watch this movie even more!!

Leave a Reply

