Bridesmaids surprises–in a totally brilliant way!

I wanted to watch Bridesmaids since the trailer.  It looked like fun and it also helped that I love Kristin Wiig, Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy.  Suffice to say, I was looking forward to it.  Yet, it surpassed my expectations!  It is not merely funny(which it is)–it is a truly fantastic film.  It has raunchy, depth and heart.  Yeah, go figure!  I LOVED IT!

I honestly, did not see that coming.  I was going in for a good time and came out with a lovely story, beautifully told.   This is Kristin Wiig’s movie–the weight is all on her shoulders and she carries it–perfectly.  Kristin is a brilliant comedian, who is subtle in her portrayal of Annie.   Annie, who is real and  has a little bit of every woman in her.  You know her and like her right away. 

The easy dialogue and scenarios are believable.  One of the best scenes is the very first conversation between Annie and life long friend Lillian (Maya Rudolph–another fabulous comedian–although she is the straight man in this).   They are just talking–like friends do–and it’s pitch perfect.  It sets the tone for the rest of the film. 

The rest of the bridesmaids were bit players, but I have to shout out to my girl, Melissa McCarthy as Megan.  She is a scene stealer (always has been) and I hope that she finally gets some well-deserved praise. 

I do not want to get into too many details–I want you to go in and be surprised too!  You’ll thank me for it.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

