Is there such a thing as too much Cpt Jack Sparrow? Sadly, yes.

A bearded man with long hair stands on a beach. He wears a red bandanna, a dark blue vest with a white shirt underneath and black pants, and attached to his belt are two guns and a scarf. A ship with flaming sails is approaching from the sea. On the background, three mermaids are sitting on a rock. The names of the main actors are seen atop the poster, and the film credits are at the bottom.

Those were words I never–ever thought I would say.  EVER.  I love Captain Jack Sparrow.  One of the most original, creative and dare I say, brilliant characters ever created.   I am with the few who actually enjoyed the entire trilogy of Pirates–and so, to say that I was excited about Pirates 4, would be an understatement.  More Jack Sparrow! YES!  But, then I watched it.

First, let me start by saying I am more disappointed than disgusted.  I would not use the word hate or horrible, instead I will use sad and unremarkable.  I was expecting a riotous, jolly good time and honestly, I was a little bored half way through.  *GASP*   I turned to Matt and said, “I should be a little more interested and excited than I am.”   And I can say I was NEVER bored with the other Pirates.

I think the biggest problem is the lack of a protagonist.  We actually need a Wil Turner and an Elizabeth Swan.  See, Jack is not supposed to be the hero.  He is the scene stealer.  The upstaging side-kick.  The ever important  and much-needed comic relief.  And let’s face it–Jack ends up doing right but usually it begins in a self-serving way and he stumbles upon his own good heart.  He is a good man AND a pirate.  Pirates of the Caribbean On Stranger Tides tries to make a hero out of Jack and it doesn’t work.   He also appears less drunk  and less grimy–hmm strange tides, indeed.  It will appear that too much screen time makes Jack a dull boy. 

Everything else is just average.  Barbosa seems less imposing.  Blackbeard is lame in comparison to Davy Jones (which is sad).  [Side note:  We re watched the trilogy recently and had forgotten how gory and violent it was (awesome!).  It bought to sharp contrast how “clean” this latest installment was.]  The new love interest, Angelica is weak.  Sub plot with young, handsome clergy and mermaid is silly.  Action is ordinary (best sequence is with the mermaids). 

Yep, pretty mediocre.  And I was expecting more…a lot more.  *Deep Sigh*

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Is there such a thing as too much Cpt Jack Sparrow? Sadly, yes.

Leave a Reply

