Priest is better than most…not as good as others

Paul Bettany in character, wearing priestly garb and having a Christian cross tattooed on his face, stands against the background of a futuristic city.

You know already–I love me some vampires!  And since they do not make many movies to fulfill my hunger for the creatures of the night, I will watch what I can get.  The trailer looked a bit cheesy, but the vamps looked cool and let’s face it…Paul Bettany is HOT!   The lowered expectations helped, because it was better than I was prepared for and ended up enjoying myself to the point that I would like to revisit this universe–hopefully in the sequel Priests (obvious title, no?)

The good.  The mythology is creative and interesting.  The vamps are well designed and exist in an insect like culture, which is a new twist.  The world is full of religious and political symbols and has a believable feel to it.  The cinematography is excellent–the world is full of grays and whites, which helps emphasize the isolation and feeling of oppression.  Paul Bettany is a strong actor and carries the role of Priest well.  Maggie Q is just right as the Priestess and their chemistry is solid.

The bad.  The pacing felt rushed.  I wanted more time to explore the world.  I wanted to be engrossed in the story.  But they sacrifice story for action–and although the action is well executed, with some sweet kills, it becomes shallow after a while–with no real stakes (no pun intended) involved. 

The worst.  The supporting cast is weak.  No real thespians in that group, except for Christopher Plummer, who is completely wasted.  Doesn’t help that they have more than a few cheesy lines. I have said before, that a mediocre movie can be elevated by an excellent villain or destroyed by a horrible villain and in Priest Karl Urban’s Black Hat baddie is unremarkable.  He is just not strong enough to pull it off and the movie suffers because of it. 

Overall, if you need your blood lust sated–check it out with lowered expectations–and it will fill your needs.  Because, who knows how long we will have to wait a while before we get another vamp movie (and that twilight shit doesn’t count).  Well, we will get the remake of Fright Night   in August–but you know what I mean…

PS  By the way, here are some upcoming Vampires movies…courtesy of Next Movie.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

