Cars 2 is a fine action movie aimed for kids–I just expected more…

 

 

Pixar has rendered their first summer action movie.  Cars 2 is thrilling, fast paced and completely superficial.  This is the first time I can say that I did not care about the characters in a Pixar film.  It was funny and entertaining, but never touched my heart. 

I will admit that Cars was never high on my list of  favorite Pixar films.  It was clever, heartfelt and enjoyable, but the characters did not stick with me as much as others.  I was never too excited about a sequel and then I saw the previews and realized it seemed to be The Mater Movie–and I was even less excited.  Mater is cute, but in small doses. 

Yet, even with Mater being the star, I enjoyed myself.  The world is again, clever.  I loved watching all the little details of this automobile universe and being a James Bond fan helped because Finn McMissile is all Bond.  What was missing was the characters we liked in the original.  They are all brushed to the side for all the action–even Lightning McQueen. 

Was the movie fun? Yes.  Full of entertaining action? Indeed.  Is it as good as the other Pixar films?  No.  And mostly because without the emotional core and unique characters we have come to expect, this film is forgettable.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

