Friends With Benefits is a pleasant surprise!

Although romantic comedies have a consistent formula, you never  know what you will get–will it  be painfully bad?  Sadly mediocre?  Entertainingly cute?  Okay good?  Or the rare gem?   I think I found a ruby here.  One of the great things about Friends With Benefits is that it makes fun of itself while talking about the influence of romantic comedies on our culture.  It does not forget its place–yet Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake have enough talent and chemistry to make this one work. 

I may have already said this–but I like reality.  I hate when they fall in love in two days–that does NOT happen–EVER!  You can’t know someone completely in two days.  So, all my favorite Rom Coms are realistic–as realistic as possible for a movie.  When Harry met SallyTwo Weeks NoticeGoing the Distance–those are few of my all time favorites.  What they also have in common is a wonderful supporting cast.  You have to believe the universe.  As you may have guessed Friends with Benefits has all that going on (unlike the disappointing No Strings Attached from earlier this year). 

I loved the extended family subplots.  The parents were awesome–Richard Jenkins and Patricia Clarkson are some of the best character actors out there!  Then add Woody Harrelson, as the work buddy, for good measure and you can’t go wrong.

Yet this story belongs to the stars–Kunis and Timberlake are both naturals and they make this look easy. (Both of these actors are going to have long careers.) Funny, sweet and even a bit raunchy–it is their delivery that makes it.  It was also refreshing to see sex talked about truthfully–and shown in some unromantic ways. 

Bottom line, you will have fun watching these two people find their happily ever after–cuz you know they’re going to find it–c’mon it’s a romantic comedy! ** insert sappy pop song–“Hey Soul Sister! Ain’t that Mr. Mister on the radio…”

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

