Cowboys & Aliens fails to captivate

A man mostly in shadow, a hat on his head and revolver in his right hand. On his left wrist is a metal bracelet glowing with a blue light.

I was looking forward to Cowboys & Aliens.  I liked everyone involved and the previews were cool.  So, imagine my disappointment that after a promising 15 minutes the movie fails to captivate–instead it starts a slow steady decline.  It ends being shallow, dull and honestly, a bit cheesy. 

Although Daniel Craig‘s Jake Lonergan is introduced as a serious badass–that is all is he–no depth or dimension is found.  And that is pretty much true about all the characters.  Everyone is flat.  The most interesting is Harrison Ford‘s Dolarhyde but barely.  I think Jon Favreau is a talented director (LOVE Elf and Iron Man) and CvsA is nicely shot, but again nothing stands out.

The premise is a little dumb and the aliens are strange and one-note.  The worst part though is the dialogue.  I was rolling my eyes a few times.  “Don’t look at the light.”  Of course, person looks into the  light.  Smarter person destroys light source and quips, “I told you not to look at the light.”  Really?  Wow. 

I do not know how precious your time, but you may want to think if you want to waste 2 hours of your time watching this while trapped in a dark theater.  Or you can just wait until the DVD release, that way you can do dishes at the same time.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a comment