Rise of the Planet of the Apes is excellent! Re-boot? INDEED!

"Rise of the Planet of the Apes Poster"

First, let me say that Andy Serkis deserves an Oscar for his performance as Caesar–it is simply…WOW! (I hope they will find a way to acknowledge him–maybe a “special” award).  Serkis continues his phenomenal motion capture work with WETA Digital, who are at the top of their game.  Together they’ve created one of the best films of the summer. 

I grew up watching The Planet of the Apes series (thank you, Thanksgiving television marathons), but the first one was the only one I really liked–it is a classic.  Like most movie franchises, the subsequent sequels never did measure up.  So, I was a little nervous to hear about the re-boot idea–especially since Tim Burton’s fiasco 10 years ago–which then, I was looking forward to (what a shame that was!). 

But, the new preview piqued my interest.  I was getting hopeful.  This could work.  And yet I was still not ready for how good Rise of the Planet of the Apes turned out to be.  The preview, wonderfully, keeps the real movie a secret, so you get to discover it while viewing. 

What surprised me the most was how much heart the film has.  The right amount of time is spent developing the characters and relationships and it never feels rushed.  Director Rupert Wyatt deftly blends the drama with the action and James Franco gives a solid performance as Will Rodman.  But as I stated above, the stars here are Andy Serkis and WETA.   It has to be seen for you to understand the level of awesomeness I am talking about.  AMAZING!

At the end, I wanted to see more.  I did not want to leave the universe they created.  And now, I can’t help it, I will be VERY excited to see what happens next.  Bring on the sequel!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

