One Day is NOT what I expected…and I liked it–a lot!

When I saw the poster for One Day I was “What is that?”  I had never heard of it.  I know!  A movie I do not know about?  Crazy!  Well, it stars Anne Hathaway–who I think is lovely–so I went to check it out.  I was expecting a typical romantic comedy–but instead it was a untypical dramedy about 2 people and the 20 years between them.

Based on David Nicholls bestselling novel (he also wrote the screenplay)–which I’ve not read–the story follows 2 college graduates that share a special day every year–whether together or apart.  Ups and downs–good and bad–the story feels real and genuine. The tone and atmosphere are believable.  You feel like you are peeking into the lives of these people and you start caring and cheering for them.

Anne Hathaway plays Emma as charming and funny, even if she lacks confidence.  I laughed at several witty, throw-away lines.  “I have plans.  Go home.  Cup of tea.  Weep.”   She has great timing!  Jim Sturgess‘ Dexter is the right amount of arrogant and sad.  You do not like him, but Sturgess portrays him with this hidden vulnerability that you end up understanding him and as he matures you do like him. I enjoyed the supporting cast and the dynamics they add to enrich the characters lives.  (Again Patricia Clarkson is lovely!)

Some parts felt rushed–while others felt unnecessary–which makes me want to read the book, because I feel like I am missing out on some details.  I really liked the ending.  It was a refreshing twist, to what could have been predictable path.  All in all, One Day is good and not a bad way to spend a few hours.

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

