The Help is wonderful! Believe the rumors…

Every once in awhile, a movie comes along that surprises you.  It comes out of nowhere, no hype, no marketing overkill–only word of mouth recommendations–it is just a quiet little movie that delivers.  We call them Sleeper Hits.  The Help is just that–a Hit!   I went in with no expectations or knowledge of the novel.  The trailer seemed interesting and as I have mentioned–I have a crush on Emma Stone–so, I will go see anything she is in.  Well, what happened?  I ended up falling more in love with Emma and with this movie!  So much so that I saw it twice in one day!  I had to take Dezi to go see it–right away!

I was a bit concerned that The Help would be a “preachy” historical drama.  “Racism is bad.”  But, instead it is a funny, touching, entertaining story–that just happens to highlight a specific time in our history.  Check out the trailer to know the premise.

It all boils down to the cast–which is pitch perfect!  There will be some Oscar nominations–especially for Viola Davis and Octavia Spencer.  (Spencer has brought to life one of the best characters I’ve seen in a long time–Minny Jackson.  She is awesome!!!)  Jessica Chastain is lovely as eccentric Celia Foote and Bryce Dallas Howard is wonderful as the truly hateful, obnoxious Hilly Holbrook.  Then add a strong supporting cast and you have magic. 

I will admit that I laughed out loud and cried a little, well–okay…maybe a lot!  Not all tears were from sadness.  Some tears were from love, compassion and hope.  I loved it!  Sometimes it is nice to see the little movies succeed, even nicer when it is so deserving.  Even you haven’t seen it–go watch it–then you will recommend it to your friends too!

 

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “The Help is wonderful! Believe the rumors…

  1. Pingback: The Help – Simply An Amazing Movie | Tasithoughts's Weblog

Leave a Reply

