The new Fright Night is a rare remake-it’s actually GOOD!!

Whoa! I actually LOVED a remake?! This is rare indeed.  But I could not help it.  The 2011 Fright Night is everything the original was–campy, funny, gory–yet it’s also more–much more and all for the better.  More camp.  More funny.  More gore. And this time they added character development and an emotional component that was missing from the first.  Well done.

The 1985 Fright Night is a cult classic.  It successfully blended humor and horror and created a new, unique version of vampires. I loved it!  Chris Sarandon was perfect as the vampire Jerry Dandridge–sexy, confident and evil.  That was my biggest fear–who could match that?  Colin Farrell, that’s who.  Farrell is having a blast and it shows. He plays Jerry with relish and intensity–while still infusing him with creepy sexiness and pure evil.

A nice change is the deeper connection to our hero Charley Brewster and that is due in part to Anton Yelchin.  Yelchin plays Brewster as a “dweeb” who recently became cool–mostly because of his new hot girlfriend Amy (Imogen Poots) and now is confronted with this ultimate dweeb reality of a vampire living next door.  He is perfect.  And they did an excellent job of creating real relationships around him–with smart reactions to his behavior.

The best update is David Tennant ‘s Peter Vincent! Wow!  He is absolutely fantastic! (New major crush.)  Still cowardly and reluctant, but now with Vegas style–it is truly hilarious.

Well, you all know I love vampires and here they’re just like I love them–afraid of sunlight! 🙂   There are some truly badass moments and a great final battle.

So if you are a fan of the original–you will not be disappointed–instead you may find it even more satisfying.  Enjoy!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

2 thoughts on “The new Fright Night is a rare remake-it’s actually GOOD!!

  1. I saw this at the weekend with a few friends. We all had a great laugh. It’s nothing new or groundbreaking but was entertaining and all the cast were great.

Leave a Reply

