Dream House spoiled by TMI trailer :(

This is a perfect example of why my hatred for TMI trailers has intensified.  And let me say first, that I LOVE TRAILERS! I love being excited about a film and being able to take a peek–my recent fb post of Spielberg’s War Horse  trailer proves that–but you know what I am talking about–there are some trailers that pretty much show every funny/cool/action shot the movie has to offer or worse…the moneyshot!  The scene you wish you would’ve experience while watching the movie! I hate that!  I have begun to close my eyes and cover my ears during certain trailers (Drive is the most recent–and I’m glad I did because I heard they showed a lot of the cool scenes).  I want to be enticed, not be forced to see a short summary of the entire PLOT!

Well, obviously now you know what my problem was with Dream House.  I knew all the twists.  I knew all the surprises.  Except the surprise that this was directed by Jim Sheridan who, I guess, should stick with Irish stories.   Unfortunately, the weak execution of what could have been a cool idea creates a forgettable film–mainly because it did not know what it wanted to be…psychological thriller?  Ghost story? It’s a shame because it was strongly acted.  Daniel Craig, Rachel Weisz and Naomi Watts are all doing solid work–but they do not have much to work with. 

So, here is the trailer–if you wanna watch it and not bother with paying to see it.  But if you don’t and have never seen this trailer, you might just enjoy the movie. 🙂

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

