Warrior will knock you out–It’s that good!

I will admit–I was surprised by Warrior.  I was not impressed with the trailer and thought it revealed too much (TMI rises its head again)–so, I went in expecting to be mildly entertained.  Instead I was so  invested I was cheering!  And although the themes and elements may be recycled material–the execution feels fresh and it works. 

The majority of the credit goes to the cast–Tom Hardy continues to impress–Joel Edgerton is perfect–they are believable as brothers that have taken different paths and are headed towards a collision course.  The supporting cast is strong–with a special shout out to Frank Grillo as Edgerton’s trainer–I loved their relationship.  But the stand out performance belongs to Nick Nolte.  He delivers a memorable, heartbreaking portrayal as the brothers’ estranged, recovering alcoholic father.  I haven’t seen him this good in a long time.  (Nolte deserves an Oscar nod.) 

The next reason is Gavin O’Connor‘s direction.  He takes his time building characters and expertly creates tension and excitement during the fight scenes.  There were moments where you feel like you are in the cage and it is pretty intense–in a good way! 

You will not be disappointed–actually you will walk out excited about being pleasantly surprised!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Warrior will knock you out–It’s that good!

  1. Pingback: Beginners is a little known film & that’s a shame, because it’s lovely! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

