Ides of March is a full of Hollywood’s finest actors and it shows!

First let’s acknowledge the brilliant poster–one of the best of the year–It caught my attention right away and luckily the film delivered on its promise of awesomeness.   Actor/Director George Clooney is cool–he exudes charm and confidence–and obviously he attracts coolness towards him because he has gathered some of the most talented actors to work in The Ides of March and it pays off. 

How could it not?  Hard hitters, Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Paul Giamatti–each as the Senior Campaign Managers of opposing candidates, are amazing.  Young and promising Ryan Gosling and Evan Rachel Wood–both as enthusiastic, novice campaign members of Clooney’s “too perfect” Presidential candidate–are pitch perfect.  Even small parts to Jeffrey Wright and Marisa Tomei are played strongly .  Yeah, wow!

Then add a strong story from a former political communications director, Beau Wilmon–who also wrote the play the film is based on–Farragut North.  And you got yourself an interesting, compelling political thriller.  A thriller built on carefully chosen words and things left unsaid. 

I will say that Clooney is settling down nicely in the director’s chair.  He takes his time and uses close-ups to show more than words can say, yet it’s the stellar cast,  that makes this look way too easy. 

I walked out, as I do with most political tales, frustrated and a bit sad–not a the movie–but at the state of politics today.  I am a cynic and these stories only help to intensify my convictions. Ah, well.  Whatcha gonna do?  Nothing we can do–except go out –vote and have our voices heard.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Ides of March is a full of Hollywood’s finest actors and it shows!

  1. This is entertaining even if suspense barely builds and pay-off revelations come with little surprise. Clooney, as a director, is also able to draw-out amazing performances from this whole ensemble cast. Solid review.

Leave a Reply

