The Muppets are Back!! And we’re all better for it…

I have been in love with Kermit the Frog since I was 8 years old.  I watched The Muppet Show everyday–later I would watch all the movies (The Muppets Take Manhattan is one of my all time favorite films–“I’m a frog!”)  and I would cry when Jim Henson passed.  I still wonder what the world would be like if his genius was still with us. 

So, yes…I was pretty stoked about this movie.  The first theatrical release in 12 years and so much could’ve gone wrong.  Instead, everything went wonderfully right!  Some are saying I loved it because I love the Muppets–but I disagree–I think I would’ve been more critical if I felt that they had ruined my beloved characters.   But, they did not!

The credit must go to Jason Segel and Nicholas Stoller.  They love the Muppets too and they successfully honored the old spirit, while reinventing and introducing them to a whole new audience.  The world has changed, while the Muppets have not–and it is nice to know that their zaniness can still fit.

The Muppets is a musical (the soundtrack is awesome!), cameo-filled, entertaining romp!  So, many great actors tipping their hats to Kermit and the gang was great to see.  I laughed throughout and even got choked up during a wonderful Rainbow Connection rendition.  It was awesome to see all my favorites–Animal, Beaker, Rowlph, Fozzie–oh, how I’ve missed you guys!

Jim Henson was a dreamer.  His imagination knew no bounds.  Through what appeared to be simple humor he taught us lessons about friendship and following your heart.  And I think that The Muppets beautifully continues and honors his legacy.

For fun –check out 3 of my all time favorite muppet songs!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “The Muppets are Back!! And we’re all better for it…

  1. Pingback: “What if I was the same man, same man” « @stevenadamswv

Leave a Reply

