My world of television

 

A view of the London skyline, with the word "Sherlock" in black letters

I am definitely more a film person than television–obviously!–but I do like some TV.  I am very particular though.  I rarely like procedurals (I get bored)–hate Reality TV (except Food Network and Top Chef)–I can’t do melodrama or soap operas–I find most sitcoms unwatchable–so, as you can see…I am picky.  🙂

If I commit to a show it has to entertain, take me out of reality and engross me with well developed characters.   In the past I have loved only a few programs enough to be a dedicated viewer–Wise Guy–The X-Files (minus last 2 years)– Star Trek: Next GenerationLa Femme Nikita (USA network version)–24–The Office (with Michael Scott)–Lost–Cheers–Seinfield–and The Wire (one of the best shows EVER!).

Presently I have a few addictions.  I will break them down a little–rather than write a post for each–so you can catch up or check them out if you wish.  They’re not in a particular order–just as they come to me. 

Dexter (Showtime)

One of the most original protagonist I have ever seen.  It’s proof of the brilliant writing and cast that you find yourself rooting for and caring for a serial killer.  Clever and always interesting.

Game of Thrones (HBO)

This show is awesome!  In the first episode you’re flooded with so many faces and stories that you feel like it will be too much–but after the second episode you’re hooked!  It is a whole new universe–beautifully rendered and perfectly acted–and it has Dragons! Enough said!

Parks and Recreation (NBC)

I am a late comer for this little jewel–trying to catch up to season 1-2 now, been keeping up with current season.  I have found some all time favorite characters and find it wonderfully funny. Ron Swanson, I love you!

 The Walking Dead (AMC)

The first season of the show was probably one of the best I have ever seen.  Yes, it does have Zombies in it, but that is NOT the only thing that makes is awesome–it is the human drama that propels this program into greatness.  Unfortunately I have not seen season 2 yet–I plan to catch up soon.

 Justified (FX)

One of the great things about this program is its authentic portrayal of rural Kentucky.  The setting is a character in the show and it is fascinating.  I love the actors here–Timothy Olyphant and Walton Groggins are pitch perfect.  But it was last year’s villian that blew me away and won the emmy (deservedly so) Ms. Margo Martindale–WOW! is all I can say. 

GLEE (Fox)

I am a GLEEK!  Maybe not as fanatical as some…but I love it! I think Ryan Murphy is brilliant.  I watch Nip/Tuck as well and found his writing to be very creative and original.  Add music and comedy and you have magic.  I do not how it can continue for too long–but for now I am able to forget about my real world for a bit and sit back, enjoy the music and Coach Sue Sylvester. 

Modern Family (ABC)

This show grew on me.  The first half of the first season was bit corny–always ending with some family lesson learned–blah!  But as the show found its legs, it also found its bite.  Now it is a well oiled machine–cracking out the funny non-stop!   Great!

The League (FX)

Hilarious!  I laugh out loud with this show!  Crazy, border-line caricatures but it works.  The chemistry between the leads is perfect.  You do not have to love Fantasy Football to love this show!

Once Upon a Time (ABC)

I am hoping that this will become the timeless classic it has the potential of becoming.  I absolutely LOVE the premise of this show.  The execution so far has been awesome.  What creative new twists on a familiar stories.  And it has what could be one of the best villains I’ve seen in a while–Rumpelstiltskin rocks!

Grimm (NBC)

I am liking the mythology that they’re trying to set up–although I am getting concerned with the procedural aspect of the program–it may get boring fast.  So far I am digging the characters and the twists.  And having a “big bad wolf” as your sidekick doesn’t hurt either (Silas Weir Mitchell steals the show).

 Fringe (Fox)

I did not like this show for the first few years–felt it was too much of a copy cat of  The X-Files–but when they found their story and started building around that it became very good.  It is intelligent and engrossing.  It has had some of the best cliff hangers I’ve seen in recent years. 

Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Steve Buscemi finally gets a leading role!  I love him and he gets to shine brilliantly here.  Add Michael Shannon–who is phenomenal–and a stellar cast, wonderful writing and perfect set pieces and you get a mini movie every week.  Awesome!

True Blood (HBO)

This one is pure fun!  Laughs, sex and vampires!  What more can you want?  Characters are over the top and delightful.  It is a blast!

Sherlock (PBS–Masterpiece Mystery)

LOVE-LOVE-LOVE!   I am more excited about season 2 of this series than I am of the upcoming Sherlock movies.  Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are spectacular!  Whoever thought of bringing the character of Sherlock Holmes into the modern world (there is no literary character in this universe) is a genius.  The writing though is the true genius–fast, intelligent and sharp! AWESOME!

I think that is it.  There are other shows I watch casually and are fine–but, these are my-DO NOT miss–have-to-know-what-happens-next-shows!  

There a several I have not yet seen that I want to–Treme–Breaking Bad–Homeland–Sons of Anarchy–etc–etc.  One day I will catch up with those too and I will let you know…

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “My world of television

  1. Pingback: TV Season Half Way Thru – Let’s Discuss « tvhappyplace

Leave a Reply

