The Adventures of Tintin is pure FUN & awesomely Spielberg!

Steven Spielberg is a genius–in my opinion–and is one of the few directors that can make important, serious films and pure escapism-popcorn movies.  Tintin is one of the latter and it is 100% fun and 100% Spielberg!  Pairing with Peter Jackson (both huge fans of the Tintin comics and planning a trilogy) and delving into motion capture technology is a win-win situation for the audience. 

The main attraction here is the flawless execution of the motion capture technology and how it allows Spielberg to express his creativity.  We see his imagination materialize and it’s awesome.  There were several “wow, that’s so cool” moments.  The action will have you on the edge of your seat.  There is a 6 minute sequence with no edits or cut aways that is well…genius. 

I am a Tintin novice.  I have never read the comics and you do not need to.  I enjoyed the hell out of this movie without any reference.  It’s like a cross between Indiana Jones and the Hardy Boys.   It helps that the voice talent is brilliant.  I know all the performers and they were unrecognizable–that’s how much they were in character.  Andy Serkis–again, steals the show.  His Captain Haddock is fantastic!

I can go on and on.  But the short of it is this–The Adventures of Tintin has easily made my Top 10 list for the year! I can not wait for what Peter Jackson does with the next installment!

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

3 thoughts on “The Adventures of Tintin is pure FUN & awesomely Spielberg!

  1. Pingback: With two new films, Spielberg hopes to reclaim his crown « masterblasterwordsmasterblasterwordsmasterblasterwordsmasterblasterwords

  2. Pingback: Animation Monday: A Review of The Adventures of Tintin | Young's Blog

  3. Pingback: Spielberg’s War Horse is sincere, heartfelt & gorgeously shot! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

