Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a worthy sequel!

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is in fact a bit better than the first installment.  It still has the awesome chemistry between Robert Downey, Jr and Jude Law (which is the # 1 reason to watch).  The unique directing style of Guy Ritchie.  And this time, I did not figure it all out in the first 30 minutes (it was pretty predictable first time around).  I enjoyed myself a lot.  It was pure entertainment–which is exactly how I felt about the first one–even with its faults.  

Yet, with Game of Shadows they have the added a wonderful adversary with Professor Moriarty–who Jared Harris plays perfectly.  Some of the best moments are not the action or fight sequences–although still cool–but the mental chess match between these two brilliant minds.   I also like Stephen Fry as the “other Holmes”–Sherlock’s big brother.   The only disappointment was the under use of Noomi Rapace.  They did nothing with her character–they did not even give her a personality and that was a shame. 

Overall it was fun and well executed.  I love Robert Downey, Jr and he seems to love playing this part and that makes it a blast to watch.   I do not judge these movies as true Sherlock Holmes–but as blockbuster films made with a Sherlock character–and there is nothing wrong with that.

Side note: If you want to experience the real deal watch the BBC TV series Sherlock–that will forever be my Holmes standard now.   It is absolutely brilliant!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

3 thoughts on “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows is a worthy sequel!

  1. Pingback: Movie Review Monday-Sherlock Holmes 2 « Crazy for Color

  2. Pingback: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (2011/US) « zerosumo

  3. Pingback: THE MIND BLOWING “SHERLOCK HOLMES: A GAME OF SHADOWS” | My Night Dreams

Leave a Reply

