Beginners is a little known film & that’s a shame, because it’s lovely!

Beginners has cruised under the mainstream radar unnoticed.  I hate when that happens!  This is a lovely story that tackles big sweeping themes like life, death and love from a unique perspective.  Creative and full of whimsy (and yeah, that is the right word to use!) this film impressed me. I got it and I loved it! 

I can see how some may consider it slow, odd or strange–but I appreciated all the nuances–all the hints of brilliance.  It did not feel like a movie–it felt like life–filled with real people confronting real issues.  Writer/Director Mike Mills is definitely a new talent and I hope he will continue to create these singular stories.  (I have not seen his debut Thumbsucker–but now I plan to.)

The cast is awesome!  Ewan McGregor is wonderful (his quiet roles seem to captivate me the most) and Melanie Laurent is someone I plan to keep up with.  Their budding relationship is one of the sweetest and again, real things I’ve seen in a while.  The spotlight here goes to Christopher Plummer, who has received tons of accolades and is rumored to be a top contender for an Oscar.  He is amazing!  I have been a fan since The Sound of Music–and he never fails to disappoint, but what Plummer does with this role is nothing short of magical.  (sidenote–I am still rooting for Nick Nolte in Warrior 🙂 for the Oscar win!) And let us not forgot Cosmo (the Jack Russell) that plays the adorable doggy companion, Arthur!  He is fantastic! 🙂

Check out the trailer for a nice peek of what to expect and then go and find this gem!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

