Charlize Theron plays a sad, delusional bitch perfectly, in Young Adult!

Young Adult is all about Charlize Theron…she is awesome! Wow!  Who knew she could be a disgusting, nasty bitch?  Obviously Jason Reitman did!  Young Adult works as a dark comedy and yet, again with a Reitman film (Up in the Air), I felt unfulfilled.  Theron’s Mavis never “goes” anywhere–which could be called original or different, but I call a little lazy.

Diablo Cody wrote the screenplay and again she proves she has a sharp tongue.  I loved all the throw away lines!  Pretty funny.  It helps that Charlize had Patton Oswalt as a counterpart because he is one, of the many, undervalued comedians we have out there.  His delivery is pitch perfect! 

Reitman does a solid job directing.  But this is pretty much point and shot.  I have liked his films, but have yet to fall in love with him. [My favorite of his films was Thank You for Smoking–not Juno (I enjoyed it–but thought it was over-hyped)] I am still waiting to be blown away.

The story is dark.  This is not a feel good tale.  This is a sad look at a woman who has some serious issues.  I did like the play on high school politics and antics–what would the world be like if those systems overlapped into adulthood?  Lord, help us! 

So, go at your risk–if you do not appreciate the dark side–stay in the light and avoid this film.  If you embrace it or just like to flirt with the darkness–then you will enjoy it!

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

