Want a pleasant surprise? Check out Chronicle!

I love when that happens.  When you have NO expectations for a film and then…SURPRISE!  Not bad.  I was interested in the premise–three teenage boys discover they have superpowers and things start to unravel–but I was not so excited about the found footage style.  I am not a fan of found footage movies.  They annoy me.  My thought process usually goes like this…Really? You’re still documenting “for humanity” instead of running for your life? I think not.  Yet, Chronicle takes a fresh approach and it worked for me.

First of all, it actually has a narrative and the characters have believable arcs.  (It is not just random pieces of film sliced together.)  I felt as if everything that happen would really happen.  Young men would act and react in the way it is portrayed in the film.  It helps that the three, relatively unknown actors–Dane DeHaan (reminds me of a young DiCaprio), Michael B. Jordan (very charismatic) and Alex Russell (genuine), have a great chemistry together that feels natural and authentic. It is even better that they are all talented.  DeHaan’s Andrew is actually kind of sad and you are sympathetic to his evolution into somewhat of a “villain”.  Well done!

New director Josh Trank is showing some potential here.  Trank takes the time to develop his characters and pace the tension, so when it reaches the climax, you find you are fully invested. The story idea and screenplay belong to Max Landis  (son of John Landis–who is an 80s icon) and I am looking forward to what else he will come up with.

So, if you were at all into NBC’s Heroes, you will totally enjoy this.  It is a refreshing twist on the tired style of filmmaking and will hopefully be the launch pad for a whole slew of exciting new talent!

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

6 thoughts on “Want a pleasant surprise? Check out Chronicle!

  1. We reviewed this film recently as well. My two partners in crime were much more enamored with the film than I was. I thought the found footage was annoying and took up valuable time that could have been used on character development of the other two characters besides Andrew. Similarly, while I understand high school boys are young dumb and full of cum, these three and Andrew in particular seemed to have rocks in their heads. I mean they had to look up the definition of telekinesis and Andrew despite possessing the power to fly and knock down walls robs the local gas and sip? Overall this film had a decent premise but was poorly executed.

    Enjoyed checking out your blog and reading your review even If I felt differently about it.

  2. Pingback: Chronicle « A Film Log

  3. Pingback: Finally, I post my Top 25 Films of 2012! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

