I Saw the Devil is not easy to watch, but hard to turn away from…

  (2010)

Let me start by saying Koreans are WHACK!  I’ve seen a few of their films and yeah…they’re some crazy people. Crazy and brilliant!  I Saw the Devil is an emotional journey. An intense story about a psychopathic serial killer and the secret agent that stalks him in order to seek revenge.  It is a graphic, gory, unflinching look at a monster which would be almost unbearable to watch, if not for the fact that it is, at its core, a sad tale of loss.  How far is someone willing to go for justice? Or Vengeance? 

The killer is perfectly played by Min-sik Choi (also famously in Oldboy–another Korean classic).  Min-sik is very convincing as a soulless monster–it gave me the willies.  Byung-hun Lee plays his counter–the secret agent who places his own soul in jeopardy in his pursuit of revenge for the death of his finance.  Byung-hun is quiet and stoic which makes his descent into darkness all the more disturbing and sad. 

If you have a strong stomach and do not mind delving into dark side of the human psyche, you will appreciate what director Jee-woon Kim has accomplished.  He has taken what could be a straight shock-horror film and has created a melancholic portrait of grief.  I could not take my eyes off the screen, but was exhausted by the end.  WHEW!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

