Can I dare hope that Tim Burton has found his lost mojo?

Okay. I love Tim Burton, but Alice in Wonderland disappointed me greatly (especially when I was almost giddy with excitement beforehand) and if I were being honest he has been hit and miss of late.  So, when Dark Shadows was announced I was NOT giddy, I was worried and planned to skip it, because it seems like both Johnny Depp and Burton were starting to lose my interest. 

Then I saw this trailer and I am almost afraid to hope.  Can this be the return of the Burton I once loved?  Can the magic of Depp and Burton be conjured up again? 

I want to believe…really, I do…

Related articles
About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

5 thoughts on “Can I dare hope that Tim Burton has found his lost mojo?

  1. hey Nedi, Really pumped up about this trailer, looks like a return to form for Burton. Just watched Beetlejusic for the first time in about ten years the other day, still amazing.

    • I know! Total classic! I love all his old stuff. I do have a soft spot for Big Fish because it was delicate and bright–so unlike his other films, yet still had the same kooky poignancy. I am hoping he returns to form–I’ve missed him! 😀

  2. o.o
    I didn’t even know about this! This is why your my mother! 😀 This seems promising! I am a little excited– I agree though, I hope Tim returns with his kooky poignancy.

  3. I think this looks like it will be a totally fun movie. I’m a big fan of Burton, even several of his movies that get pounced on by a lot of people. I find it interesting that several people who are fans of the original Dark Shadows are horrified by this trailer, while those who have no clue or interest in the original show think this looks like it could be a great movie.

    And welcome to the LAMB!

    • Thanks for the kind welcome! I look forward to getting more involved with the LAMB community (if only I did not have to work :D). And yes–I heard the original was very brooding and melodramatic (soap opera-ish) and they feel this is going for straight comedy. I say do not underestimate Mr. Burton. He is quite capable of adding heart and sentiment to his quirkiness, maybe even melodrama. If only he is back to form.

Leave a Reply

