Wrath of the Titans disappoints. Why am I Surprised?

Well…I actually enjoyed the first one.  The 2010 Clash of the Titans was as Bad-tastic as the 1981 cult classic (which I watched way too many times when I was young) and had cool, fun modern special effects.  Trust me, it was NOT the best movie ever, but it made no excuses for what it was–a mindless, fantasy adventure.  Now, Wrath of the Titans doesn’t even reach those very low standards. 

The ONLY thing this film does have is special effects (especially the cool Tartarus maze) but, unfortunately one can not live on effects alone.  You may think I am exaggerating but I’m not.  Characters?  Shallow.  Plot? Thin.  Sam Worthington? Wooden.  Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes?  Not enough to save it.  The most exciting part?  A surprise, yet too short of an appearance by Bill Nighy

Deep sigh.  Oh, well…what did I expect?  Not much.  And they still could not deliver.  Sad.  And I am sure they are working on the third installment–maybe they will call it “Shit on the Titans”–at least then you would know what you were getting into. 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

7 thoughts on “Wrath of the Titans disappoints. Why am I Surprised?

  1. Hmmm yeah I never got round to seeing Clash and I’ve never seen the original either. I heard so many bad things about Clash (2010) I didn’t think it was worth watching. But now you say it’s ok and I’ve heard a few people liking this new one. Still not sure whether I should give either a go.

  2. I think it all depends on your expectations–if you go in with low expectations you can enjoy the visual aspects of all the films. The 1981 original was the final work of stop motion visual effects artist, Ray Harryhausen and is a cult classic–it is NOT a great film necessarily, but it’s dear to many due to the fond memories it evokes. The 2010 remake, to me, stayed true to what the original was–a fantastical story with cool creatures and monsters–but the sequel, that was free to branch out into new territory, just fell flat in everyway but the visual effects. Hope that helps! 😀

  3. I liked Clash alright, not stupendous but basic. I had already decided to give this a pass because of another post but you just confirm my opinion. Thanks Nedi! I really liked Lockout, I thought for a “mindless” movie it was one you could keep your mind on for…to me this is the mindless kind, no characters, no real plot, even the acting sub par…let me hit my off switch. hehe. Cheers 🙂

    • You’re welcome! 😀

      I have to check out Lockout–my daughter said the same thing–she said it was enjoyable fluff. Sometimes you need to hit that “off switch”!

  4. Pingback: Wrath of the Titans (2012) | Cine

  5. Worse than Clash of the Titans 😦 that does not sound good at all. I think I would rather rewatch the 1981 original Clash of the Titans that again that I picked up at Big Lots for $2.99 🙂

Leave a Reply

