The Five-Year Engagement? I liked it.

The Five-Year Engagement is delightful.  It may not be as laugh-out funny as some of the other Apatow productions, but it is a warm, charming and heartfelt story.  What I really liked is how real it all felt.  This is not a standard romantic comedy (which is a good thing) and I could honestly believe in these characters and their dilemma.

Romantic comedies are hit and miss with me.  I like a light, fluffy movie every once in a while but I hate the play by the numbers–meet cute–stereotypical character–ones and enjoy the original–realistic–ones. And Five-Year definitely qualifies as realistic. Instead of showing the courtship and ending with a proposal, here we begin with the proposal and follow what happens after you’ve declared your love and life gets in the way.  It helps that Jason Segel and Emily Blunt are wonderful and have a natural chemistry because the story takes its time and watching them maneuver through obstacles is part of the fun.

Writer/Director Nicholas Stoller (Segel co-wrote the screenplay) goes back to Forgetting Sarah  Marshall territory here–focusing on a light touch.  There are a few raunchy and over the top bits but they do not overwhelm the narrative.  The supporting is good–not great and I think that is the weakest part of the film.  (The talent around the stars always helps to elevate the enjoyment factor.)

Overall I enjoyed my time visiting with these characters.  It may not be the best film out there but it is better than most.  And let us not forget…it is a light, fluffy movie and it’s not trying to be anything more than that.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

4 thoughts on “The Five-Year Engagement? I liked it.

  1. First kind review I’ve read of this. Most things I’ve read have said it’s pretty dull. Want to see it because of the cast but going to wait for rental.

    • You can wait for rental–there is nothing that will be lost with the smaller screen. I tend to like the romantic comedies that others do not. I hate paint by the numbers and this movies does not follow a formula. The reason it did not surpass “like” is the supporting cast–no one helped elevate the narrative and not all the jokes worked. Still it was better than most…

Leave a Reply

