It’s a Plunderful Life indeed! The Pirates! Band of Misfits is a fun adventure

I love Aardman Animation Studio!  Wallace and Gromit? Classic.  Chicken Run? Hilarious.  So, I was understandably excited about this film and happily, it did not disappoint.  The Pirates! Band of Misfits is an intelligent, quirky story that will engage kids and yet, keep the adults entertained.  The humor may be very British and not everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s funny at some level for everybody.

Stop action claymation is an amazing art form and does not get enough attention, in my opinion.  This is the company’s first 3-D feature and it’s cool.  Co-founder/Producer/Director Peter Lord is back behind the camera (Chicken Run) and is joined by former Aardman animator Jeff Newitt.  Lord has a great sense of timing and storytelling.  There is so much to see that you have to watch it more than once to catch-all the fine details–posters, store fronts, and lots of background gems.

The film is based on the first two books from Gideon Defoe‘s The Pirates! series and Defoe wrote the screenplay.  Honestly, that does explain why it is not as hilarious as the earlier films (writing duo of Peter Lord and Nick Park outshines most though), but it is still extremely enjoyable with plenty of laugh out loud moments.  What’s even cooler is how much depth they’re able to incorporate into these animated characters and how many touching moments there turn out to be.

The voice cast is awesome!  Hugh Grant is unrecognizable as Pirate Captain and perfect.  Martin Freeman is the First Mate and again proves he has incredible comedic timing.  David Tennant is Charles Darwin and delivers some great lines.  And Imelda Staunton‘s Queen Victoria is fantastic.  The whole crew is great!

Yes…yes…you can tell I loved it.  Go out and support this wonderful art form and have a few laughs while you’re at it.   And as one of the pirates says, ” This turned out to be one of our most unexpectedly heart warming adventures yet!”  INDEED!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

7 thoughts on “It’s a Plunderful Life indeed! The Pirates! Band of Misfits is a fun adventure

      • I believe she was one of the female pirates…I saw her “film” or voice it on her show. Is there another Pirate movie that looks just like this one? Ah well it doesn’t matter really…obviously you aren’t a fan so wouldn’t have noticed. Cheers 🙂

      • Found it! Jake and the Never Land Pirates (TV series)
        Pirate Princess – The Pirate Princess/The Rainbow Wand (2011) … Pirate Princess (voice)

        And yes, I am not much for Reality TV, but I know who she is 🙂

  1. Damn it, I knew I should not have let my brother talk me out of reviewing this film. It is somtimes a battle getting him to review kids films. I might have to try and take jr to check this out. nice post Nedi 🙂

    • Yeah, you will like it! As you now know I love animation! 😀 If you haven’t–you should watch the rest of Aardman Animation’s films–it will be an enjoyable marathon…

Leave a Reply

