Men in Black are cool again! Bravo MIB3!

I’ve missed you, Men in Black.  I had forgotten how much I liked this universe.  I had forgotten how great Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are together.  I had forgotten many things, but MIB3 pleasantly reminded me and what a blast!  The concept was brilliant.  F/X and aliens were seamless.  And the addition of Josh Brolin and Emma Thompson was a stroke of genius.  Bravo!

I loved the 1997 Men in Black.  It was original, funny and pretty badass.  I still can recall and quote from that movie.  MIB2?  Not so much.  Honestly, I had to go back and read the summary to even remember what it was about.  So, I was so-so about the third installment.  The franchise was dead.  But, lo and behold!  They did it.  Barry Sonnenfeld was able to bring back the magic and breathe new life into MIB world.

Why did it work?  Mainly because they went back to what worked in the first one–story and characters.  By shining the spotlight on the characters relationships you are able to enjoy all the F/X craziness around it.  The time travel bit worked perfectly and allowed for new possibilities and plenty of fun moments.  Major shout out must be given to Josh Brolin.  Brolin not only nails Mr. Jones voice and mannerisms, he is also able to duplicate the wonderful chemistry with Smith.  It is truly a pleasure to watch.  (And Mr. Smith still has it! His charm is on full display here.)

I enjoyed this more than I expected and want to watch it again.  I am sure that I will not have to read a summary to remember this one!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Men in Black are cool again! Bravo MIB3!

  1. Surprisingly good…it felt to me like Tommy Lee Jones was on the screen the entire time, that’s how good Josh Brolin was mimicking him. Of course, it’ll never have the magic of the first movie but sequels rarely are better than their clever originals. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

