Moonrise Kingdom may just be Wes Anderson’s Masterpiece.

Wes Anderson is quirky and unique.  That is what I love about him and Moonrise Kingdom seems to be the perfect accumulation of all of Anderson’s style and talent.  While I was watching it I could not help but feel happy.  It is brilliant!  Funny, touching, silly and poignant.  Right now, it is my favorite film of 2012 (so far).

Let’s start with the story written by Anderson and Roman Coppola.  It centers around two special 12-year-old kids and their struggle to find themselves and love while running away from a New England island town.  Appropriately, it is set in 1965 and there are real risks and dangers involved–even if it is presented in a zany sort of way–and that elevates the stakes.  The narrative moves quickly and keeps you engrossed from start to finish.   As always, there are so truly affecting lines thrown in, among all the craziness, that make you nod with agreement and understanding.

Anderson’s direction is a thing of beauty.  Honestly.  Some of the sequences are masterful–blended together seamlessly and able to create greater impact.  It is 100% Anderson.  From voice over to side swipes.  Awesome.  There is a bit of magic in this one.

Now for the cast.  WOW!  The two stand outs are the 12-year-old leads.  Thousands tried out and the perfect pair was chosen.  In their début, Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward, knock it out of the park!  I am impressed and will be watching their careers rise–because it will happen.   They’re both natural and have a charisma that shines on-screen.  It must have intimidated them to be surrounded by some incredible talent–Edward Norton (fantastic)–Bruce Willis (melancholy perfection)–Bill Murray (DUH! Awesome)–Frances McDormand (lovely)–Tilda Swinton (great)–and Jason Schwartzman (hilarious).   I can only imagine how crazy and wonderful that must have been for these two young kids!

Yes.  I can go on and on.  But, as you know–I want you to go out and experience it yourself.  Even if you usually do not enjoy Anderson’s films–try this one–you may be surprised how much you will enjoy it.  Hopefully, it will make you happy too!

 

Related articles

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

9 thoughts on “Moonrise Kingdom may just be Wes Anderson’s Masterpiece.

  1. Loved loved loved this film when we finally got to see it last weekend. I think this may be Anderson’s most approachable film. Not that I have not loved all his films but this one sort of eases people into the cult of Anderson.My only gripe upon leaving the theater was that I was not living on a small island off the coast of Maine.

    enjoyed reading your review and spot on about those two young actors stealing the show.

    • Absolutely! I also want a raccoon hat now. 😀

      I went to see it again with my daughter (Anderson exposed, of course) and her best friend, who had never seen an Anderson film–not even Mr. Fox, and they both loved it too. And now he wants to have an Anderson marathon! Welcome to the “cult”! LOL!

      • That sounds like a good plan. I just borrowed the Royal Tennenbaums from my brother lol

      • Hearing a lot of great things about it. Plan on seeing it and To Rome with Love (which I’m not hearing great things about) as a double feature.

      • Look forward to what you think of To Rome… (haven’t seen it yet, either)

        If Safety Not Guaranteed is showing, switch it out–it’s pretty great!
        I plan to see Beasts of the Southern Wild this Friday–been hearing glorious things–fingers crossed.

  2. Pingback: Finally, I post my Top 25 Films of 2012! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

