Thank you, Nora Ephron. You voice will be missed…

1941 –  June 26, 2012

I am not a romantic. Not in the purest sense of the word. But underneath my cynicism there was a bit of hope.  That hope was given to me by Nora Ephron.

The first time I watched When Harry Met SallyI was 18 years old and already a “realist” when it came to romantic love.  This film spoke to many of my forming ideas and made me think, laugh and cry. Maybe love was real.  Not only real, but plausible.  Why? Because Harry and Sally were flawed and neurotic and they found each other. Therefore, I may have a chance and she was right–I did find love.

To this day, it is one of my favorite movies of all time.  I quote it regularly and find comfort watching it.  For me, it set the standard for what romantic comedies should be–smart, witty and based on some sort of reality and I still enjoy the ones that follow the pattern more than the others.

(I also blame her for my intense crush on Tom Hanks.  Sleepless in Seattle made me want to marry him. 😀  And most recently, Julie and Julia made me want to learn how to cook french food–à la Julia Child.)

Ms. Ephron had a unique voice.  She created characters that felt like real people–people we could relate to–people we knew–or people we would like to know.  Her wit and strength were clear in every word she wrote, whether it was for a novel, essay, blog or a film.

Better than my words, check out this wonderful tribute reel at The Huffington Post.  They collected some great videos celebrating Ephron’s life and spirit.  If you are not familiar with her work now is the time to check out the legacy she has left for generations to enjoy.

Rest in peace and again, thank you.  Thank you for all the laughs and the forever memories.

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

2 thoughts on “Thank you, Nora Ephron. You voice will be missed…

  1. Pingback: IN MEMORY OF: THE TALENTED GIANT NORA EPHRON!! « WASIALife

  2. Pingback: IN MEMORY OF: THE TALENTED GIANT NORA EPHRON!! »

Leave a Reply

