The year I made contact–1970

When fellow blogger and movie guy, The Movie Waffler , asked me to take part in a “year you were born” blogathon I thought…hmmm…cool–1970, I will have to investigate. I was pleasantly surprised that my birth year was full of thought-provoking films–mostly about war and its affect on humanity.  It is interesting to see what the world of cinema was putting out when I was just a wee babe.

Okay, here we go…1970.  If you read my blog, you know I am bit eccentric and my taste varies in different genres so my picks may not be the standard or expected.  I’ve chosen my 5 favorites (that I honestly did not realize were released in 1970):

5. Kelly’s Heroes

A comedy about war, that is a heist as well? Yes!  Clint Eastwood and the entire cast is awesome.  I love how it is not what you expect–it will make you laugh and yet, it will make you think about how war affects people.

4.  Little Big Man

One of Dustin Hoffman‘s great roles.  This one is a bundle–a satire that addresses some very serious issues.  It was the first western that labeled the “white men” as the villains instead of the Native Americans–and it does it with a wink and smile.  Clever.

3. The Aristocats

The Aristocats

Oh yeah…swinging cats and some cool jazz music.  My daughter LOVED this film–would go around the house singing…”Everybody–everybody! Everybody wants to be a cat!”  Indeed.

2.  Five Easy Pieces

I love this performance by Jack Nicholson!  He is in his prime here.  The diner scene alone is worth the watch.  This is a fine example of a narrative that reveals itself slowly and is a true character study.  Classic.

1.  M.A.S.H.

This was close with Five Easy Pieces–but this film is BRILLIANT!  A true dark comedy–will make you laugh, cry and cringe.  This is Robert Altman‘s masterpiece (in my opinion).

There you go!  Five films created and released into the world the same year I was.  Not too shabby…the films and myself.  We have all stood the test of time.  Nice.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

8 thoughts on “The year I made contact–1970

Leave a Reply

