Finally caught up with The Walking Dead and I am stoked for Season 3!

I love The Walking Dead. The first season was amazing–I was addicted instantly. It was engrossing, intense and strangely poetic, in many ways. A character study with heady themes ranging from survival to death, that just happen to have zombies roaming around.

Based on the world-renowned graphic novels (of the same name) by Robert KirkmanTony Moore, and Charlie Adlard.  Series creator Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption) has stayed true to the source material and has incorporated many visual and style elements of the novels. (It will interesting to see if it stays that way since Darabont has stepped down…)

I just finished the 13 episode second season and was totally impressed. Compared to the short 6 episodes of the first season, S2 seemed too long and dragged out, but as it started to reach the end it became clear that the set up was mandatory and the pay off was awesome. There were moments that I was on the edge of my seat…ahhhh!  I love it!

The cast is pitch perfect.  It is a true ensemble–each actor working off each other and it truly feels like a community.  There are characters you love (Rick, Daryl, Glenn) and the ones that annoy (Lori, Dale, Shane), but they’re all fully realized and rich in complexities.  That is the most brilliant part–that even though you love watching the incredible zombie make-up and gruesome zombie kills–this is fundamentally a story about humanity.  What do we become when you take away all the rules and structure of an organized society? Sometimes the “monsters” are among the living.

If you haven’t started this series and you like intense, gripping drama mixed with gory, cool zombies, you may want to catch up before Season 3 is scheduled to begin on October 14, 2012.  From the people who have read the novels–I am in for an awesome story line–how exciting! 😀

Here are some of the trailers for each season:

 

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

Leave a Reply

