Colin Farrell is no Arnold and the new Total Recall suffers for it…

Oh, Arnold Schwarzenegger! Little did we know how much we would miss you. Twice they have tried to remake one of your signature roles (let’s not forget the Conan fiasco) and twice they have failed to capture the magic, fun and muscles that made you a mega-star.  Give it up, Hollywood. It is not going to happen and plus, Arnold is coming back (like he promised).

The sad part is that the 1990 Total Recall could have benefited from a modern face lift and the trailer looked promising. The premise is clever enough that writers Kurt Wimmer (who has done some decent stuff that I really like) and Mark Bombach could have created a more realistic, gritty interpretation of the campy, fun original and although they tried–it never quite finds its feet (or mind…or whatever).

The 2012 Total Recall changes a lot of stuff up. There is no Mars, in any way, in this version. The world is darker and gloomier, but not necessarily more interesting. For the first 20 minutes I was hopeful. I liked the new look–the different direction they were taking, but then as it progresses, we are never invested in the dystopian society they have dropped us into. Since the politics of this society play a major motivating factor in the narrative, it feels empty and shallow.  In trying to be serious, they lose all the fun and the small attempts at humor or one-liners falls flat.

Director Len Wiseman, who started the successful, albeit shallow, Underworld series is no stranger to action, but manages somehow to make this bland and a bit boring.  All the sequences have been done and seen before in other sci-films and so…nothing feels fresh or exciting.

That leaves the acting. No one is awful. Actually, these are all capable actors. Well, except Jessica Biel, who is always stiff but not totally horrible.  Colin Farrell is fine, but he does not have much to work with here.  The wasted talent is Bryan Cranston and Bill Nighy–they’re brilliant and unfortunately, they’re not even given the chance to shimmer.  The only shout-out I will give is to Kate Beckinsdale, who is the only character with a clear focus and drive and who can kick some serious ass!

Oh well. They tried to recreate a universe that has been memorably etched in most people’s memories, but they failed to capture the fun and even the innovation that the original achieved. Maybe those who have yet to see Paul Verhoeven‘s 22 year-old classic (wow! that’s crazy!) will find it okay.  But I will quickly recommend for them to go watch Arnold at his prime, as he will dishes out one-liners, blows up stuff and punches Sharon Stone in the face! Yeah…they will definitely have a better time with that version!

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

One thought on “Colin Farrell is no Arnold and the new Total Recall suffers for it…

  1. I’m putting together a new blogathon. It’s called “Winning Streak” and the idea is that you write about what you consider to be the most impressive unbroken run of great movies from a chosen film-maker. So for example mine would be Robert Altman’s run from Brewster McCloud (1970) to Nashville (1975) where in my opinion he made seven fantastic movies.
    Let me know if you fancy taking part.

Leave a Reply

