Argo is a tense, well-crafted thriller!

Ben Affleck has found his calling…as a director.  With Argo, he makes his third successful film (in my opinion) and shows us an ability to create nail-biting tension and tell tight, fast-paced narrative.  It helps that the story is based on true events and is completely riveting.

Argo walks a fine line between reality and dramatized fiction.  Writer Chris Terrio does an excellent job of telling the story as straight forward as he can, without sentimentality or political agenda.  It is a rescue mission. Period.  Terrio also incorporates humor and much need levity especially in the Hollywood scenes.  It reminds me of old school film making -not flashy or stylized–just good storytelling.

Affleck assembled a strong cast.  John Goodman and Alan Arkin are great together and offer some comic relief.  Bryan Cranston is awesome and NOT underused.  The six diplomats in need of rescue are not explored very much–which could have been issued except that Affleck, smartly, focused the story on his character, CIA operative Tony Mendez.  And although Affleck does a fine job playing Mendez, as a latina I have to ask…”Where there no latino actors that could play…a latino character, Mr. Affleck?”  Just asking.

What really worked for me was the tension.  It was palpable.  There were moments that I found myself on the edge of my seat–whispering directions to the screen.  “Go. Go.”  It was nerve-racking, but in a very good way.  😀

It is also cool that this incident actually took place.  I am always impressed by what the men and women of our covert agencies deal with and do.  Very cool indeed.  Nice when you get to acknowledge one of them and admire his effort.

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

5 thoughts on “Argo is a tense, well-crafted thriller!

  1. Agreed! The Town and Gone Baby are probably still ahead of this one, for me, but there’s no denying this was an excellent movie. The tension WAS palpable. It was smothering at times! But in the end it was all entertaining. I’m glad the movie had that Hollywood diversion to mix the comedy in…

  2. Good review. Didn’t love it like so many others did, but still give a lot of credit to Affleck and for what he was able to do with this stranger-than-fiction, true story. I can definitely see it being up for some Oscars this year, but I don’t know if it really deserves a win. That’s just me, though.

    • I am with you. This is not in Oscar contention for me either. As good as it was constructed it was not in my Top 10–maybe top 25. 😀 Why? I would have liked more character development…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pingback: Finally, I post my Top 25 Films of 2012! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

