Pitch Perfect is a throwback to the 80s and lots of fun!

I was not interested in Pitch Perfect.  But, my daughter went to see it twice and was telling me it was loads of fun and a good time.  So, I went.  And she was right.  It reminded me of those 80s movies that are light on substance yet, heavy on charm.

The credit has to go to writer Kay Cannon, who has created some realistic and quirky characters and to Broadway director Jason Moore, (making his film début here), who made wise choices by keeping the pacing fast and the tone light.  You are never bored and find yourself laughing out loud at some of the silly shenanigans.

It helps that the cast is pretty cool.  Rebel Wilson is going to become a force to reckon with if she continues her scene-stealing ways and Anna Kendrick is as lovely as ever (and who knew she could sing!).  A fresh face, that I liked a lot was Hana Mae Lee (Lilly)–who has a very funny voice “handicap” and milks it throughout.

Sometimes I like to go and watch what I call “light and fluffy” movies.  These films are like cotton candy, while you are eating the melt-in-your-mouth goodness, you do not care that you are consuming pure crystallized sugar–full of empty calories that is guaranteed to give you a painful sugar crash.  Why? Because it is delicious and fun to eat.

That is Pitch Perfect.  Cotton candy, without the painful sugar crash–just fun.  😀

About nediunedited

Who is nediunedited? A lover of cinema since the age of seven! All kinds–all genres. Films (TV and Books, too) have shaped my life–they were my escape, my inspiration and even my first role models. I do not rate my films in the traditional sense (no stars, grades, etc.)–instead I give you my opinion and my take on it–I do not give traditional plot summaries either, because I want you to go in clear–ready for your own experience. There is nothing better than discovering a fine film, without any other influence. (Personally, when I want to really see something I practice media shut out–I refuse to watch too many trailers, viral promos, reviews, etc–I have been known to cover my eyes and ears in the theater during trailers–LALALALA!) That’s me–hope you come by and visit! I will definitely make the rounds and find some of you out there, too.

4 thoughts on “Pitch Perfect is a throwback to the 80s and lots of fun!

  1. I didn’t love this movie and cherish it like it seems so many others have been doing, but I still had a good time none the less. It’s actually one of the rare times where I actually found acapella to be cool. Good review.

Leave a Reply

